Jell-O Cookies!

Jello-Cookie-Stack

I found this recipe via Pinterest and Facebook quite some time ago, but I never got around to making them until today. I’ll post the recipe as well as the website I obtained the recipe from.  Then I’ll put my two cents in!  *Click on the photos for an enlarged view of the recipe, or visit the website at the end of the post!*

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 6.06.17 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 6.06.26 PM

Here’s how mine came out:

IMG_20150103_160322:nopm:

A few tips:

-I suggest working with the butter at room temperature. It’s easier to cream that way.

-Don’t use the sugar free Jell-O!  It kind of defeats the purpose of having a sugar cookie.  I’m sure you could use it for the flavoring, but you’d have to adjust the amount of sugar you add.

-My batch only yielded 18 cookies and my cookies came out soft.  If you want crunchier/more cookies, make your balls of dough smaller.

-I only rolled my balls of dough in sugar.  I did not add sugar on top of them.  I did not have the colored sugar, nor the patience to make any.  These are just for around the house, not for a special event or anything, in my case.

I used the Cherry flavored Jell-O, but your options are pretty much endless.  It is a bit of a funky, not bad funky, just unusual, tasting cookie.  However, given the coloring, these would be great for Easter, a child’s birthday party, a baby shower (I do believe that a Blue Raspberry flavor of Jell-exists – for the boys).  Overall, I think these cookies were easy to make.

Here is the link to the website I pulled the recipe from: http://justhelen.net/2012/03/jell-o-cookies/ .  Check it out!

 

One response to “Jell-O Cookies!

Leave a Reply

